top of page
  • Writer's pictureIlona Andrew

31 ministers, 38 deputy ministers sworn in

Photo courtesy to New Straits Times

30 Aug 2021

By Ilona Andrew

KUALA LUMPUR: A total of 31 new ministers and 38 deputy ministers were sworn before Yang di-Pertuan Al-Sultan Abdullah Ahmad Shah at the Istana Negara today.

The swearing-in ceremony kicked off at 2.30pm just now but saw the absence of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob who was today identified as a Covid-19 close contact and Kimanis MP Datuk Mohamad Alamin who tested positive for the virus.

Ismail is undergoing self-isolation starting today while Mohamad who is the new deputy minister of education is reported to be receiving treatment in Kuala Lumpur.

Ismail Sabri took his oath as Prime Minister on Aug 20 and announced his new Cabinet line-up a week later.

bottom of page