• nabalunews


16 JAN 2021

KUALA LUMPUR: The inaugural ASEAN Digital Ministers’ Meeting (ADGMIN1) will start on Monday with the Senior Officials Meeting (ADGSOM1), laying the groundwork for reshaping ASEAN’s post-COVID-19 digital landscape.

The virtual meeting from Jan 18-22, hosted by the Communications and Multimedia Ministry from the Kuala Lumpur Hilton, is expected to adopt the ASEAN Digital Masterplan 2025 (ADM2025).

ADGSOM1, to be headed by the ministry’s secretary-general Datuk Seri Mohammad Mentek, will also see virtual meetings with dialogue partners - the United States, China, Japan, South Korea, India and the European Union (EU) - and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

The meeting will then proceed to ADGMIN1 on Thursday, chaired by Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah. Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin is expected to deliver his opening keynote address virtually.

During ADGMIN1, apart from briefing member states on the key achievements in ICT cooperation in 2020, Malaysia, being the proponent of ADM2025 development, will present the draft ADM2025 for their consideration. ADGMIN1 comes at an important juncture where the COVID-19 pandemic had altered the ASEAN digital landscape - inevitably and urgently pushing governments and particularly the business sector to accelerate transition towards digital economy.

There are an estimated 400 million internet users in the region, home to a vibrant population of 622 million and a booming economy, projected to be the fourth largest in the world by 2030 with digital economy expected to be a key driver of growth. ADGMIN1 is aimed at focusing on strengthening the cooperation among ASEAN countries towards the development of the digital ecosystems as the backbone of the post-pandemic development plan. In winding up ADGMIN1, the ministers may wish to consider and adopt the Putrajaya Declaration on “ASEAN – a Digitally Connected Community” and may wish to consider and endorse the Joint Media Statement of the 1st ADGMIN and Related Meetings.

ASEAN, founded in 1967, is a regional organisation comprising 10 Southeast Asian countries – Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. -Bernama