top of page
  • nabalunews


12 Feb 2021

KUALA LUMPUR: A total of 3,318 new COVID-19 daily cases were reported in the country in the past 24 hours, taking the total number of cases to 258,306, said Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah.

In a posting on his official Twitter account, he said 3,311 of today’s cases were local transmissions involving 1,673 Malaysians and 1,638 foreigners while the remaining seven were import cases involving three Malaysians and four foreigners.

“There are currently 51,579 active cases while, during the same period, 17 fatalities involving Malaysians were reported today, taking the death toll to 953 cases,” he said.

He said there were also 3,505 recoveries today, bringing the total number of recovered cases to 205,774.

Dr Noor Hisham said 258 patients are being treated in intensive care units, with 119 of them intubated.

Dr Noor Hisham said Selangor continued to record the highest number of new daily cases at 1,214 followed by Johor (742 cases) and Kuala Lumpur (374).

Others are Kedah (188 cases), Penang (149), Sabah and Negeri Sembilan 118 cases each, Perak (99), Sarawak (83), Kelantan (79), Terengganu (72), Melaka (45), Pahang (30), Putrajaya (six) and Labuan (one).

He said 14 new clusters were detected, with 13 of them linked to workplaces and one involving the community.

There are currently 484 active clusters, with 83 of them recording an increase in new cases today.

The workplace clusters were detected in Johor (Jalan Seelong, Jalan Perindustrian Elektronik, Jalan Besar Pontian, Ladang Pekan and Perindustrian Pelepas); Perak (Jalan Jelapang and Jalan Perusahaan Tiga); Selangor (Damar Construction Site and Taman Industri); Kuala Lumpur (Pantai Dalam Construction Site); Kedah (Selambau); Melaka (Teknologi Berendam) and Kelantan (Pangkal Changgong).

The community cluster was identified in Perak namely the Kampung Teluk Cluster.

He added that, so far, 478 clusters had ended, including the seven declared today, namely the Batu 39 Cluster, Palut Cluster, Cergas Cluster, Damai Construction Site Cluster, Lingkaran Lintang Cluster, Ladang Matamba Cluster and Rengit Sentral Cluster. - Bernama

bottom of page