top of page
  • Wartawan Nabalu News


15 June 2021

By Wartawan Nabalu News

KOTA KINABALU: A total of two localities in Kalabakan, Tawau, and Kota Kinabalu, as well as one each in Kota Belud, and Kudat, will be placed under a 14-day enhanced movement control order (EMCO) starting Tuesday (17 June) until 30 June.

Local Government and Housing Minister Datuk Masidi Manjun said in Kalabakan the two localities involved are Kampung Rancangan and Kampung Kijang Merotai which both have a cumulative total of 19 Covid-19 cases.

“In Tawau, the localities that will be placed under the EMCO are Kampung Tanjung Batu Tengah and Taman Semarak Megah with a total of 31 cases,” he said in a statement today.

Meanwhile, in Kota Kinabalu the areas that will be placed under EMCO are Kampung Rampayan and Kampung Kionsom Kecil with a cumulative total of 13 positive cases recorded.

In Kota Belud, the locality involved is Kampung Taun Gusi Peninting with eight positive cases detected in the area.

IN Kudat, the area that will be placed under the EMCO is Projek Perumahan Rakyat (PPR) Taman Ehsan with a cumulative total of eight cases.

Masidi added the decision to impose EMCO on these localities was made so that targeted screening can be conducted towards the public in an effort to curb the spread of the virus to other communities.