top of page
  • Wartawan Nabalu News

Malaysian Youth Parliment: Four resolutions passed after debate

15 Sept 2023


KOTA KINABALU: A total of 99 Malaysian Youth Parliament members, representing each state and federal territories, were selected through an online election process that included nominations, campaigning, and voting from June 7th to July 20th, 2023.

Eleven youth parliament members from Sabah attended the session held on August 16th to 17th, chaired by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tan Sri Dato' Johari Abdul.

During the session, they debated and passed four resolutions.

The first resolution called upon the government to amend the Infectious Diseases Prevention Act 1988 to prepare for infectious disease and virus health crises.

Secondly, the Employment Act 1955 to be amended or a new legislation introduced, taking into account the gig economy, contract workers, and student internships.

The third resolution is that the government present an Education White Paper to address issues of education and teaching in Malaysia.

The fourth resolution is that the government implement a policy of Separation of power to maintain the integrity of institutions.

Emmanuel Atin, Vice-Chairman of the National UPKO Young Generation and head of the young generation of UPKO Beluran, emerged as a prominent voice in the Malaysian Youth Parliament. As a member of the Committees, he has passionately addressed several pressing issues, including the placement of local teachers, the neglect of students in sports talent development under the Ministry of Education (MOE), and the inadequate infrastructure in the medical field, particularly in Sabah and Sarawak

During the event Tan Sri Dato' Johari Abdul presented the appointment letter to Malaysian Youth MP for 2023/2024 session.

Also present during the winding up session was the Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports.-ends


bottom of page