top of page
  • nabalunews

Upgrade of Penampang into a Municipality in tandem with upgrade of services

Joachim (6th left) with Francis (6th right) after the event launching.

2 December 2023

By Wartawan Nabalu News

PENAMPANG: The aspiration of the people in Penampang to upgrade the township into a municipality will be realised soon after the countdown was held at the Penampang District council today.

District Off officer Francis Chong said the Sabah State Cabinet had approved the upgrade of Penampang into a Municipality in September 2023.

With the approval, the upgrade is nearly realised when the deputy Chief minister II and Minister of Local Government and Housing, Datuk Seri Dr. Joachim Gunsalam launched the countdown, he said, adding that there were other matters that had yet to be selaraskan before the Municipality can function fuilly.

“This includes aligning the tasks and functions of the district office itself with the Penampang Municipal Council, as well as its impact on its own staff. There are various matters that need to be coordinated. I congratulate them for ensuring that this aspiration becomes a reality," Francis said.

"In the transition from the Penampang District Council to the Penampang Municipal Council, the Penampang District Council is actively implementing various initiatives to enhance services in line with this upgrade.

"The efforts being made include improving services through additional logistics and human resources to enhance existing services and expand services to rural areas.

"We aim to increase revenue collection by adding human resources and improving the use of information technology, improving waste collection services, and enhancing the process of license applications through coordination and integration of the license application services."

The Penampang District Council will officially function as a Municipal Council in April this year.

The event was attended by Assistant Minister I of the Ministry of Local Government and Housing Sabah, Datuk Isnin Aliasnih; N.25 Kapayan State Assemblywoman, Puan Jannie Lasimbang; Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Local Government and Housing Sabah, Datuk Dr. Jamili Nais; Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Rural Development, Datuk Norlijah Hj Danin; Members of the National Council, Senator Datuk John Ambrose and Senator Datuk Noraini Idris as well as Political Secretary Carl Mosoom who represented Datuk Ewon Benedick, Penampang Member of Parliament.


bottom of page