top of page
  • Wartawan Nabalu News

GE15: Upko confirms contesting five seats

Incoming UPKO President Datuk Ewon Benedick.

23 Oct 2022

By Wartawan Nabalu News

KOTA KINABALU: United Progressive Kinabalu Organisation (UPKO) has confirmed that it will contest five seats in the 15th General Election (GE15).

Incoming UPKO President Datuk Ewon Benedick said it will contest in Penampang, Tuaran, Libaran, Kimanis and Beluran.

He indicated that the discussion about the seat allocation among the PH leadership was not only focused on the GE15, but also the state election as well.

"We are not only talking about this election but also the state election. The discussion is not limited to just the national election.

"We will not get the (requested number of) parliament seats, but we will get state seats.

Chan Foong Hin.

“I cannot reveal much, but the discussion also touched on the seats for the state election … I think it is a fair discussion,” he said in a press conference after the Jelajah Harapan programme at SM La Salle hall last night.

Ewon who is also the Kadamaian State Assemblyman is set to contest in the Penampang parliamentary while UPKO President Datuk Seri Panglima Wilfred Madius Tangau will defend the Tuaran seat.

When asked about the three other candidates, Ewon said the party will make an official announcement before the nomination day and that it may be made along with the other component parties from the PH bloc.

Ewon also mentioned that the seat allocation for Malaysian United Democratic Alliance (MUDA) is still under negotiation.

Meanwhile, Sabah DAP leader Chan Foong Hin disclosed that all PH component parties have come to an agreement that they will contest under the PH logo.

“It took a long time before we have come to a decision to use one common logo. That is really a big achievement.

“We decided that we need to show to the rakyat that we are together. Togetherness is very important so that all the seats would be contested by PH in Sabah,” he said.

Agreeing with Chan, Ewon said: “Therefore, it is not a concern who is getting five (seats) and who is getting more or less because we are contesting under one common logo.

“So this is the consensus in the decision made by PH leaders. To us respective by individual party, we are candidates for PH,” he asserted.


bottom of page