top of page
  • Wartawan Nabalu News


File Photo

13 April 2021

By Wartawan Nabalu News

KOTA KINABALU: Four localities in three districts will be placed under 14 days' enhanced movement control order (EMCO) starting April 14, said Local Government and Housing Datuk Masidi Manjun.

In a statement today, he mentioned that two of the localities are in Sandakan, namely Sim-Sim Flat in Mukim Berhala and Kampung Sungai Obar, Batu 7 in Mukim Sentosa.

The other localities are Taman Villa Mas in Tawau and Kampung Melangkap Tomis in Kota Belud.

Masidi said the implementation of EMCO in the localities is to ensure that close contacts can be easily traced while also helping with the curb of Covid-19 spread.

A total of 38 individuals have been screened at Sim-Simm Flat where 17 tested positive while 10 out of 46 individuals screened in Kampung Sungai Obar were found to have contracted the virus.

In Taman Villa Mas, Tawau, 42 screening tests have been conducted with seven came back positive and the rest still awaiting results.

Meanwhile, a total of 31 individuals in Kampung Melangkap Tomis, Kota Belud have been screened where four tested positive.

"After a joint risk assessment with various agencies from the MCO Technical Committee and upon the advice of the Health Ministry, the state government has agreed to implement EMCO in these localities."

bottom of page