top of page
  • Writer's pictureIlona Andrew

Entry to Parliament denied, Opposition MPs demand Muhyiddin's resignation at Dataran Merdeka

2 Aug 2021

By Ilona Andrew

KUALA LUMPUR: Members of Parliament (MP) from the Opposition bloc have gathered at Dataran Merdeka as they were denied entry into Parliament today following the postponement of special Parliamentary sitting.

This was the first time ever in Malaysian history that MPs were not allowed to enter the building.

The Parliament was ordered to close for two weeks from July 29 after Covid-19 cases were detected in the building. However, it was reported the cases were only at 0.9 per cent rate.

They began gathering at the scene around 9.45am, demanding for Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and his entire cabinet to step down.

It was believed that police were manning roadblocks while holding riot shields at the location, including at the back entrance, in an attempt to prohibit the politicians from entering the building.

Some of them voiced their dissatisfaction and criticised the failure of the Perikatan Nasional governance using loud hailers.

Shouts of "Daulat Tuanku" and "Undur Muhyiddin" could also be heard echoed by the Parliamentarians during the assembly.

A total of 107 MPs were present at the scene, among them were Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, 96-year-old former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Amanah President Mohamad Sabu, Muda President Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman, UPKO President Datuk Seri Panglima Wilfred Madius Tangau, and Warisan President Datuk Seri Panglima Shafie Apdal.


bottom of page